DIY and Crafts · Organization · Studying & School

DIY Inspirational Desktop Wallpapers

It’s the final week of classes for me, meaning that the finals grind is about to begin. However, my motivation to study has been lacking lately. I’ve always found that changing up my workspace helps me to refocus when I’m working or studying. For example, reorganizing my desk, adding some new desk decor, or even changing my desktop wallpaper on my laptop helps.

I like having inspirational quotes on my desktop as a way to motivate myself to study, and pictures of nature or cityscapes are also fun to include. While there are many desktop wallpapers available on the internet, I’ve recently discovered an easy way to make your own! Here’s how:

Step One: Figure out your laptop’s desktop dimensions. This can be done by a Google search of your laptop type. For example, I have an 13 inch Macbook Pro, meaning my screen is  1280×800 pixels.

Step Two: You can use any photo editing software but I prefer canva.com because of how user-friendly it is (and these instructions outline the process to create a wallpaper on Canva). You have to create an account with Canva but it is free and I’d recommend it as a great place to make posters or projects. You can create a new canvas by clicking “Use custom dimensions” in the top right and inputting your screen’s dimensions.

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 10.20.54 AM.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 10.21.47 AM.png

Step Three: Canva has many features that you can use to make a truly unique image, but I prefer to just go with a simple photo background. Start by clicking “Layouts” on the lefthand tool bar. This gives you options for creating a photo collage, but I like to just use the single photo. This is super helpful because any photo you drag onto the canvas will automatically change to fill the entire screen!

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 10.23.50 AM.png

Step Four: Click on the “Elements” tool and then “Free Photos” (the green camera). This gives you a variety of cool, high quality images that you can use as your background. Drag one onto the canvas and BAM, you’ve got a new desktop wallpaper that will perfectly fit your screen! But you don’t need to stop there!

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 10.25.31 AM.png

Step Five: I like to add text such as inspirational quotes to my images. To do this, click the “Text” tool and choose a text option. Canva has lots of great fonts and even pre-made text layouts that you can use. You can search Pinterest for a quote or use your favourite one.

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 10.29.25 AM.png

Tip: If the text isn’t showing up well, you can change the photos transparency by clicking the checkerboard symbol in the top right.

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 10.30.55 AM.png

Step Six: Once your wallpaper is complete, you can save it as a JPEG file and set it as your desktop wallpaper!

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 10.32.24 AM.png

There you go! It’s a pretty easy process once you get the hang of it. This method also works to make phone or tablet screen wallpapers! I hope that you find this tutorial helpful, and good luck with finals everyone!

-Lauren ✌︎❤︎❁

 

Leave a Reply

