Food and Drinks · Fun Stuff · Holidays & Special Occasions · Lists · Studying & School

Spring Break Boredom Busters

I’m officially on Spring Break (or Reading Week as we call it here) and while it’s nice to be home, I’ve already gotten a little bored. This time last year I was on a service trip to Trinidad (building a school, exploring the jungle, and swimming in the ocean). While I am not going anywhere exciting this year (although I might be taking a fun trip to the grocery store at some point), I’ve come up with a list of a few things to keep me busy this week.

Option One: Do all of the school work that you can possibly do in a week (or just tackle a few things). I have a plan of finishing an essay, a group report, two presentations, a paper outline, and course readings this week. While this may be an ambitious goal I am going to try to take advantage of this time off to get a jumpstart on the many assignments I have coming up in the next month.

tumblr_n90uqlppfd1temnxdo1_500

Option Two: Catch up with friends from home. If you’ve been away at university like I have, this week is a prime time to meet up with high school friends and update each other on the things you’ve missed. My friends and I like to go to a cafe or get sushi (and talk for hours).

cafe.jpg

Option Three: Make slime. These DIYs have been all over YouTube, Instagram, and Pinterest in the last few months and there are so many variations! You can make galaxy slime, butter slime, even unicorn poop slime! This is a fun thing to do one afternoon and you can even bring some back to school with you to use as a stress-ball during finals season.

unicorn-poop-slime-recipe

 

Option 4: Try baking something. As a student living in residence without a real kitchen or access to tools and ingredients, I spend way too much time adding things to my baking Pinterest board. Now that I’m home I can try some new recipes, and even bring the delicious results back to school with me to share with friends!

baking-doughnut-marshmallows-pinterest.jpg

Option 5: Relax. This time of year (winter+midterms+assignments) can be hard on students, so remember to use your time off to relax, catch up on sleep, and do something fun!

143572-sleeping-puppy

That’s what I’ll be doing this Reading Week, what about you?

-Lauren ✌︎❤︎❁

Leave a Reply

