Fitness · Holidays & Special Occasions · Lists · Studying & School

How to Be Productive Over Winter Break

I wrote my last two finals on Saturday and have now been on winter break for a few days. While I have been enjoying a lazy week (to be fair I have been sick so I deserve a few days off), I am also hoping to get some things done this break. I have 13 chapters of a textbook to read, research to do for a paper, an application to write, and a new semester to prepare for. I’m probably a nerd for admitting this but I’m actually very excited for classes to start up again and I want to return to school feeling like I had a productive break. Here are a few tips to beat the winter break slump and get things done:

o-WAKE-UP-HAPPY-facebook.jpg

Avoid the long winter’s nap. Avoid using the break as an excuse to stay up all night watching Netflix and then sleep until the afternoon. Instead, use Christmas break to catch up on sleep missed during finals season while also getting back into a good sleep schedule for the new year. Go to bed before midnight and wake up before 9am to make the most of your days.

Invincible-Inc.-50-percent.png

Make a list and check it twice. While I don’t have an assignments specifically due at the end of the break, I do have a few projects and readings that I want to get a jumpstart on before classes start. I made a list of everything I needed to do (including school work, errands, and festive things) and have been completing a few of them per day. If you struggle with procrastination, assign a task to each day so you have a deadline to work towards.

Winter-Walking.jpg

Walking in a winter wonderland. With more free time, winter break can be a great time to be physically active. This doesn’t have to mean just going to the gym; you can try ice skating, snowshoeing, sledding (walking up the hill is good cardio), or just going for a walk.

New-Year_Resolutions_list.jpg

Ghost of Christmas future. With the approach of the new year, winter break can be a time to not only set goals but to start modelling the habits you want to have. Don’t wait until January 1st to start your resolutions, you can get a jump start on them now!

38117-Snow-Falling.gif

Those are my tips for a productive winter break, but remember to have fun, relax, and spend time with friends and family! Happy Holidays,

-Lauren ✌︎❤︎❁

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

