Studying & School

My Dorm Cleaning Routine

I have been at school for almost three weeks now and have gotten back into my school routine, but also my cleaning routine. Over the course of first year I figured out what works best to keep my space clean, here is what I do (keep in mind your cleaning routine depends on your residence, space, personal preferences, etc.):

Daily:

  • Make bed
  • Tidy desk/other surfaces
  • Fold clothes that are able to be worn again, put dirty clothes in hamper
  • Take any dirty dishes to the lounge kitchen to wash them

Weekly/BiWeekly:

  • Vacuum (room and attached bathroom)
  • Clean sink and counter with wipes
  • Wash clothes/fold and put away
  • Clean mirror and shower with glass cleaner
  • Take out garbage

Monthly:

  • Wash sheets and towels
  • Clean toilet
  • Move bed and vacuum underneath
img_4633
My simplified laundry essentials

Cleaning Tips:

  • Laundry: I use Tide Pods and fabric softening sheets, meaning I can bring one of each down to the laundry room and not have to haul big bottles of detergent
  • Vacuum: I recommend this vacuum for something small and cheap that gets the job done
  • Making the bed: This forces me to not climb back into bed between classes and to use the time to study/do readings instead of napping
  • General tidying: Some people thrive in messy surroundings, but I am not one of those people. Having a tidy space helps me focus and reduces some stress
  • Shared spaces: talk to your roommate/suite-mates early on to establish a schedule and share the responsibility of cleaning and buying cleaning supplies
  • If you have any potentially smelly garbage (banana peel, milk carton) take it to a communal garbage (for example: the lounge) to throw out as these are usually emptied every day and it won’t stink up your room!
  • Recycling: if your city/campus/building has a recycling program, sort out paper, cardboard boxes, and other recyclables to put in the proper bins. I keep a second bin under my desk for papers to be recycled
img_4632
Messy desks just don’t work for me! 

Those are my cleaning tips: I hope they help you keep your space neat and tidy!

-Lauren ✌︎❤︎❁

 

Leave a Reply

