DIY and Crafts · Food and Drinks · Organization · Summer

DIY Tea Organization

DIY Loose Leaf Tea Organization

Hello everyone. My name is Lauren and I have a problem. I am addicted to loose leaf tea.

Ever since Davids Tea opened a store in my local mall, I have been collecting colourful tins of cutely named loose leaf teas. It has gotten to the point that an entire drawer in our kitchen (plus other random nooks and crannies) has been claimed by the tea collection. While I do enjoy tea, I have a problem with the whole ‘out of sight out of mind’ thing. Because I can’t see everything, I tend to forget about certain ones and end up buying teas similar to what I already have.

I have been looking online for a way to store loose leaf tea that is condensed and practical, but the only options available for purchase are for bagged tea, and none of the DIY ideas I found were exactly what I wanted. So, I took matters into my own hands and created my own DIY Loose Leaf Tea Box. Here’s how I did it:

Step One: I went to the dollar store and purchased one large and twelve small (airtight) clear plastic containers. It is important to get air tight containers so the flavours of the tea don’t mix. The supplies I purchased for this DIY cost me $9.04

IMG_3527.jJPG
Materials needed: just plastic containers!

Step Two: This was the fun part. I collected and sorted through the teas that I had and condensed them into the 12 containers. Some teas had enough to fill the containers while some were small sample sizes. I made mixes such as a “Cozy Fall Blend” from a variety of cinnamon-y samples, and I mixed two jasmine teas into “Jasmine Mist”. As I put the teas into the containers I listed what each one was so they didn’t get mixed up.

IMG_35j29.JPG
Don’t forget to write out what’s what!

Step Three: Next, I used Canva to create a simple label template and put in the names for the teas (some were the original name, some were names I made up). I printed out the labels and stuck them onto the containers with clear tape.

Step Four: Once the labels were on I simply put my tea containers into the box. I put the more fall and winter type teas on the bottom layer and the fruity/iced tea flavours on top. I also added my tea filters and a tablespoon into the box so everything I need is there!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here is a before and after of the tea collection:

Now… the only thing left to do is figure out what to do with the left over Davids Tea canisters! I can sense another DIY in the future! Happy steeping,

-Lauren ✌︎❤︎❁

P.S.- I created a new board on my Pinterest page with ideas for what to do with too much tea! Check it out here

2 thoughts on “DIY Tea Organization

  1. As much as I love the tins (Although most of the teas I purchase come in bags since I don’t purchase enough to need a tin), I feel like these containers will preserve the tea’s freshness better. I’ll have to pick some containers up. Adding this tip/technique, to my ever growing “To Do List”… Unless of course you’d like to organize mine. You should visit Tea Haus in the Covent Garden Market (London, ON).

    Like

Leave a Reply

